230.070 – VEHICLES
Updated: May 2019
The use of a company vehicle is only for currently employed individuals over the age of 20. Individuals under the age of 20 must have prior approval from the organizations insurance company in order to be included on the authorized driver list. Students (including work study students), interns and faculty are not permitted to drive any company vehicle at any time. This benefit is a privilege, not a right, and the use of a vehicle can be revoked at any time. We cannot list rules to cover every situation, and employees are expected to use good judgment with respect to the use of company vehicles.
We encourage you to drive safely. We require all personnel who drive for the company to:
- Complete a driver’s safety evaluation by the Operations Manager or authorized employee
- Authorized drivers are removed from the company’s insurance policy at the end of every calendar year and must complete a driver’s safety evaluation every year.
- Authorized drivers must also show an original valid drivers’ license to a designated employee every year.
- All drivers under 25 years of age must complete an online vehicle safety video in the business office prior to driving vehicle.
- Abide by all traffic laws.
- Heed all traffic signs and signals.
- Practice defensive driving.
- Maintain good driving records.
- Have a valid US drivers’ license.
- Have a photocopy of their current drivers’ license on file in the business office.
- Comply with all driving/parking laws.
- Be 20 years of age.
- Sign in and out for each trip, recording your start and end time and mileage, using the driving log attached to a clip board which should be kept in the vehicle
- Visually inspect the vehicle prior to departure, record any damage/malfunction and report this information to their supervisor
- Keep food and beverages in the vehicle to a minimum.
- Be sure to clean out the vehicle – i.e. remove and dispose of trash, bring any left items to the registration offices lost and found – before turning in the vehicle
- Always return vehicle keys to the appropriate employee or registration office
- Van cell phones are to be used for company business only.
- Texting is strictly prohibited while driving. Texting while driving is a punishable offense in the state of Maine and a fine may be imposed on the driver.
- Workshops vehicles may not be used for personal errands.
- NO MAINE MEDIA OWNED VEHICLES OR TRAILER(S) MAY BE USED FOR ANY OTHER PURPOSE THAN MAINE MEDIA BUSINESS.
- ALL MAINE MEDIA VEHICLES MUST BE SEASONALLY STORED AND/OR PARKED AT THE END OF EACH DAY, ON MAINE MEDIA PROPERTY ONLY.
Your driving is a direct reflection on you and the company. The organization’s insurance company may not allow you to drive a company vehicle while on company business if you have a poor driving record. Our insurance rates are highly affected by your driving record.
We do not differentiate between violations occurring during working and nonworking hours, or whether the violation occurred prior to your employment with the company. You are responsible for any fines or other penalties assessed against you. This also includes parking tickets.
It is the policy of Maine Media to check driving records. Receiving a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) violation may lead to immediate dismissal. We expect all of our personnel to drive responsibly and to follow basic rules of defensive driving for the protection of you, students, other motorists, and the company.
Drivers should not follow another vehicle so closely that they cannot stop safely within the clear distance ahead. Driving a company vehicle that is loaded with students and/or equipment is unlike driving a passenger car, and your driving should be adjusted to compensate for the additional size and weight. Make sure all loads are secured.
When backing up, always observe the following precautions:
- Check that no objects or individuals are behind the vehicle.
- Watch both sides of the vehicle, using mirrors or another passenger as help.
- Back up slowly.
Signal all lane changes and turns well in advance. Avoid sudden steering movements, which can cause a slide.
If you slide:
- Don’t hit brakes suddenly.
- Don’t over steer.
- Steer in the direction the vehicle is sliding.
It is a State law and a company policy that seat belts must be worn at all times for every driver and passenger in the vehicle.
Unattended company vehicles must be locked—side doors and overhead doors—at all times to prevent theft of company and/or personal property. In the event that the vehicle is vandalized during working hours, you will be reimbursed for the cost of your equipment provided that:
- The company vehicle was locked.
- The theft was reported immediately to your supervisor.
- And police are immediately called.
The purpose of Maine Media vehicles is to provide service to our existing students and personal use of company vehicles is strictly prohibited. NO Maine Media owned vehicles or trailer(s) may be used for any other purpose than Maine Media business.
Smoking is not permitted in company vehicles.
It is the policy of the company to prohibit drivers from using fast-food or bank drive-ins or drive-thrus. Please park the vehicle and go into the building.
It is company policy that you maintain our vehicle as if it were your own personal auto. The following guidelines are to be adhered to by employees who drive company owned vehicles:
- It is the responsibility of the driver to make sure that the vehicle is equipped with proof of insurance, current registration, and state inspection.
- Please keep clean the outside, inside, and back of your vehicle. All tools and other materials must be properly strapped down. Vehicles are inspected regularly for cleanliness.
Failure to adhere to any of the above policies can result in loss of driving privileges and/or other disciplinary action.
Gas cards are provided as a convenience to all drivers of company vehicles. Gas cards are checked out by the business office during regular office hours. Gasoline is to be purchased and used in company vehicles only. Anyone violating this policy will be subject to disciplinary action.
Gas receipts should be turned in as soon as possible with the gas card. Tag number, date, mileage, and any other information given to the attendant must be correct. If the attendant does not enter the information properly, you are responsible to see that it is corrected. Your name and class you used the vehicle for must also be clearly printed on the receipt.
The monthly statement from the gas company is audited by the business office. Discrepancies are verified and miles-per-gallon statistics are evaluated. Incorrect or lost gas receipts could delay processing of our payment. Your cooperation in this will be appreciated.
Reporting Accidents and Injuries
Since the personal health and safety of every employee and student is of the greatest importance to the organization, every attempt should be made to reduce the possibility of accident occurrence.
Police should be called immediately after any accident. The police report must be submitted to the business office upon completion. All accidents and injuries, no matter how minor, should be reported to the business office immediately. Incident report may be submitted on Maine Media website www.mainemedia.edu/incidentreport. This is for your protection in case medical attention is necessary or in the event of some future complication caused by the accident.
If first aid is necessary, the business office will instruct you to go to the Occupational Health Clinic that we belong to. If needed, transportation will be provided. The proper treatment will be obtained for all injuries that require professional medical care. Should the injury be more than just first aid treatment call for an ambulance immediately.
It is the policy of the company to require that all employees submit to a drug and alcohol test after an on-the-job accident or injury, particularly when a vehicle is involved. The tests will be paid for by the company and the results will be kept strictly confidential.
The company provides workers’ compensation insurance on every employee. It protects you for loss of pay and time and for the cost of medical care for injuries sustained while working. There is a one (1) week waiting period before compensation begins.
If you are involved in an accident, we require that you:
- Obtain all information relating to the accident in a professional manner, including the names and addresses of any witnesses.
- Do not negotiate the settlement of any claim, promise payment for any injury or damage, or admit liability.
You must complete Maine Media’s online incident report at www.mainemedia.edu/incidentrport or obtain a hard copy from the business office for all accidents and injuries with 24 hours. Completed incident reports provide necessary information to the business office to allow the processing of claims with our or other motorists’ insurance companies. Any damage to our vehicle, no matter how slight, must be noted on the accident report.